Another school year begins

I never imagined myself back in an Elementary (Primary) classroom, but life has a funny way of taking us to places we least expect. An invitation to teach using only the Socratic method and model respect for individual rights seemed like a Utopic vision from my own childhood. My interest piqued, I followed what I hoped was not the proverbial ball of yarn down an educational labyrinth. After a week in an intensive think tank environment, I stepped out dazed. The school’s mission is to create independent thinkers who question everything and use rational and logical thought to arrive at well-formulated answers. Teachers create fast paced lessons and lead by example.

Discipline is taught with the goal of instilling self-regulation, not fear and manipulation. A child’s toy may not be taken away and given at the end of the day for misbehaving. The natural consequence of missing homework isn’t missed Recess rather a questioning of poor choices. The curriculum is accelerated with Latin and Greek roots and affixes taught to eight-year-olds so they may play with spellings and not memorize by rote. As a linguist, this approach to teaching language is music to my ears and I am immediately won over. I sign the dotted lines, accept a “barely at the Poverty Line” salary and join the noble profession of guiding a generation of children away from self-centered behavior. The scope of how life transforming all of this is does not escape me. I walked to the school I was assigned yesterday with some trepidation and excitement.

 As I was given the keys to my classroom I saw a pair of hawks playing near the large tree overlooking the room. The custodian informed me this family of hawks had taken residence many years ago and everyone kept a respectful distance, allowing the birds to nest. The children were particularly protective of the birds and would sometimes play at the far end of the playground so as not to disturb them. I couldn’t help but smile. A Bucolic environment where the fundamental respect for life was observed was a winning combination. This I believe will prove to be a magical year and I look forward to taking my fellow bloggers on a journey into childhood memories. Now I must be excused as I clean a dusty room and find a desk that isn’t balanced on its last leg.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Drugwash says:

    Independent thinkers, people that question everything… Do you realize how dangerous that is for the powers to be? You should keep this a secret. 😉
    Yes, this would be the right education in an ideal society, but unfortunately ours has never been, is not and most likely will never be an ideal world. It’s human nature.
    Nonetheless I wish you all good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There are no secrets left in this world just misinformation and filters. The future of knowledge and intelligent adults will be determined by their ability to view and understand content in multiple frames simultaneously. An exhausting proposition, unless that ability is internalized in childhood.
      Thank you for your kind wishes.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. equinoxio21 says:

        Fortunately there are many secrets left to uncover. The three basic questions remain unanswered. For a start.
        And congratulations on taking this “mission”. Education is the only we can help children “re-invent” the world in a Hannah
        Arendt sense. 😉
        (I know I still have to get back to you on that)
        (And I love the hawks image)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Drugwash says:

        I guess Brian’s right, there still are secrets all around and beyond. Trouble is, most of us aren’t allowed to keep (important) secrets from the few that keep theirs very well hidden, misinformation and filters mentioned by you above being some of the tools used for that purpose.
        While some of the secrets may well hide in plain sight (or is it in plane site? 🙄 ), others may remain unknown forever should their witnesses/keepers leave this world without sharing. And I personally believe there is much knowledge lost in this world through time.

        As for the understanding of not-so-hidden secrets/knowledge, I guess imagination is the primary key capable to unlock those, a feature that can only be stimulated and developed through the right education model. Which is what you’re about to start now, a very commendable mission which I hope will go on smoothly for a very very long time since this appears to be the only chance for the humanity to raise to a higher spiritual level. 🙂

        Apologies for the late reply, I apparently lost touch with WP, forgot to enable comment notifications.

        Like

    2. equinoxio21 says:

      Fancy meeting you here. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Drugwash says:

        Returning owner’s visit to my humble (and deserted) den; gotta use this account in order to avoid confusion.
        World is a small place. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. equinoxio21 says:

        It is. Or maybe the good people have a way of finding one another? Regards to both you: the owner and the visitor. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Drugwash says:

        Oui, peut être comme ça. 🙂
        Merci, regards back to you. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. equinoxio21 says:

        Peut-être. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Drugwash says:

    ERRATA: […] powers that be […]

    Like

    1. erratum – Latin singular (from errāre ?)
      errata – Latin plural but extensively used in English as its singular form. Therefore errata is used in erratum and is now accepted 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Drugwash says:

        Errare humanum est (, perseverare diabolicum). 🙂
        Indeed the plural form has been widely adopted as a generic/unique form for signaling one or more errors, usually in printed books. And not only in English but in other languages too (in Romanian books it used to be spelled with a single R). Since these platforms here don’t allow editing one’s own comment after publishing, the usage of ‘errata’ would be an elegant way of correcting oneself. Seldomly used, apparently. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Cuiusvis hominis est errare, nullius nisi insipientis in errore perseverare. I prefer this quote by Cicero. But I did learn something new today, did not realize this erratum was so wide spread. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Drugwash says:

        Same cat with different hat. 🙂 I have a problem with copyrights, almost never remember who said this or that. Well, I can hardly remember couple hours later what I had for breakfast so… 😳
        Anyway, glad that you can still learn and that I could help with that. 🙂

        Like

    2. Secrets are just concealed knowledge. The funny thing about knowledge is that it can “hide” in plain sight if one does not understand it. It is why I say there are no secrets, just misinformation, and filters…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same cat with a different hat. Dr. Seuss? or is it a Romanian saying similar to Aceeaşi Mărie cu altă pălărie? I am here to learn 🙂

        Like

      2. Drugwash says:

        Indeed it was an attempt at matching the original Romanian saying to an English context, keeping it rhymed. Maybe I should’ve used the original seeing that you’re quite familiar with my native language. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. equinoxio21 says:

    Sounds like a wonderful challenge. Now an ubalanced desk is definitely a precursor of Chaos. Though easily fixed.
    What will the four legs of your teaching be? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

