La luce del sole (sunlight)

 

img_4001

stray caresses sit drunk on ancient marble steps.

The gondoliers sing haunting songs of mourning in their floating coffins.

Blue hearses lined, a steep price to pay for a ride across the Lethe.

The green shroud wrinkles at my feet,

a cool breeze blows and finds its way between my teeth.

The languid curves of an ancient smile trace etched lines on my face.

Which world yearns for me?

I lived for the hollows of his palms, in the dust of his feet, in every fold of his skin.

I chose to forget at the river’s edge…

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. equinoxio21 says:

    There are worse places where to forget…
    The river cleanses all…

    Like

Leave a Reply

